History & Tradition

The Arnold Palmer Cup is named in honor of legendary golfer Arnold Palmer and seeks to pass on Mr. Palmer’s values to the next generation of golfers.

Palmer Cup History

Since 1997, this international Ryder Cup-style collegiate event has enriched the lives of youth through the universal bond of the great game of golf.

Palmer Cup History

Arnold Palmer Invitational & The Amundi Evian Championship Exemptions

Selection of the Arnold Palmer Cup representative in the Arnold Palmer Invitational Presented by Mastercard and The Amundi Evian Championship will be determined by a vote of the 48 Arnold Palmer Cup participants prior to the competition. The players will select a member of each team (excluding themselves) who they think best represents the “Arnold Palmer Legacy,” that is, the character and values that Arnold Palmer has exhibited during his legendary career. The top vote-getters from the winning team will earn the invitation. The Arnold Palmer Cup player selected must remain a collegiate golfer to utilize their exemption. The junior caddie for the designated Arnold Palmer Cup player also will be invited.

The Exemptions have been awarded to:

  • 2016: Maverick McNealy, Stanford University/United States
  • 2017: Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt/Austria
  • 2018: Collin Morikawa, California/United States
  • 2019: Justin Suh, Southern California/United States and Alana Uriell, Arkansas/United States
  • 2020: Chun An Yu, Arizona State/International and Julie McCarthy, Auburn/International
  • 2021: Matthias Schmid, Louisville/International
  • 2022: Sam Bennett, Texas A&M/United States and Brooke Matthews, Arkansas/United States
  • 2023: Ludvig Åberg, Texas Tech/International and Aline Krauter, Stanford/International + Benedetta Moresco, Alabama/International
  • 2024: David Ford, North Carolina/United States and Rachel Kuehn, Wake Forest/United States
  • 2025: Jackson Koivun, Auburn/United States and Rachel Kuehn, Wake Forest/United States
Golf is the greatest game mankind has ever invented.