2020 Arnold Palmer Cup Teams Named


NORMAN, Okla. – The Arnold Palmer Cup is slated for July 3-5 at Lahinch Golf Club and in these unprecedented times we do not know if the matches will be held as scheduled, postponed, or canceled. With the pandemic affecting so many lives around the globe, there are certainly more pressing issues than golf. However, we would like to recognize the accomplishments of these college golfers since last summer and during this college season.

The United States team is led by returners from last years team in Emilia Migliaccio (Wake Forest), Kaitlyn Papp (Texas), John Augenstein (Vanderbilt), and Quade Cummins (Oklahoma). Men’s Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking selections include Augenstein, Garett Reband (Oklahoma), Cooper Dossey (Baylor), Cummins, Evan Katz (Duke), and William Mouw (Pepperdine). Women’s ranking selections include, Rachel Kuehn (Wake Forest), Kenzie Wright (Alabama), Julia Johnson (Ole Miss), Addie Baggarly (Florida), Latanna Stone (LSU), and Allyson Geer (Michigan State).

Joining Ricky Castillo (Florida) Migliaccio, Kaitlin Milligan (Oklahoma), John Pak (Florida State), Papp, and Davis Thompson (Georgia), who were selected on March 4, will be Pierceson Coody (Texas), Jaime Jacob (Cal State San Marcos), Gina Kim (Duke), Andy Ogletree (Georgia Tech), Megan Schofill (Auburn), and Zach Zediker (Delta State) as Team USA committee selections.

Jacob and Zediker become the first representatives from their respective schools.

The Internationals are represented by 15 different countries, including two returners from last years victorious team in Matthias Schmid (Louisville/Germany), and Sofia Garcia (Texas Tech/Paraguay). International men’s ranking selections include Yuxin Lin (Southern California/China), Adrien Pendaries (Duke/France), Mark Power (Wake Forest/Ireland), Puwit Anupansuebsai (San Diego State/Thailand), Sam Choi (New Mexico/Republic of Korea), and Angus Flanagan (Minnesota/England). Women’s ranking selections include Vivian Hou (Arizona/Taiwan), Emma Spitz (UCLA/Austria), Linn Grant (Arizona State/Sweden), Kaleigh Telfer (Auburn/South Africa), Aline Krauter (Stanford/Germany), and Sophie Guo (Texas/China).

International committee selections include Ludvig Aberg (Texas Tech/Sweden), Ingrid Lindblad (LSU/Sweden), Olivia Mehaffey (Arizona State/Ireland), Caolan Rafferty (Maynooth/Ireland), Pauline Roussin-Bouchard (South Carolina/France), and Schmid, who were selected on March 4. Joining them will be Alex Fitzpatrick (Wake Forest/England), Garcia, Hazel MacGarvie (Stirling/Scotland), and Vincent Norrman (Georgia Southwestern/Sweden), David Puig (Arizona State/Spain), and Angelina Ye (Stanford/China).


For more information visit arnoldpalmercup.com

About Arnold Palmer Cup

The Arnold Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) and began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Fla., in 1997. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top men’s and women’s university/college golfers matching the United States against a team of International players. The Arnold Palmer Cup has been played at some of the world’s greatest courses including The Old Course, The Royal County Down, Royal Portrush, Baltusrol, The Honors Course, and Cherry Hills. The 2018 matches at Evian Resort Golf Club became the only major tournament which features men and women playing side-by-side as partners.

Since its inception, over 100 former Arnold Palmer Cup alumni have gone on to earn cards on either the PGA Tour, European Tour or LPGA, 29 have represented Europe or the USA in the Ryder Cup or Presidents Cup, and more than 60 have claimed over 240 victories on the PGA or European Tours. The United States leads the series 12-10-1.

The Arnold Palmer Cup is supported by Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation. The Arnold Palmer Cup provides a platform for perpetuating Arnold Palmer’s commitment to youth development and the growth of amateur/collegiate golf.  For more information, please visit ArnoldPalmerCup.com.

About Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation

It all began in the 1960’s when Arnold Palmer’s go-for-broke style of golf bolstered a legion of fans, coined by the press as Arnie’s Army. Palmer’s charisma and unfailing sense of kindness and thoughtfulness endeared him to millions around the world. Over the past four decades, the Palmer family has contributed time and resources to support their passion for helping others and in so doing have made a profound impact on many lives. Founded in 2015, Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation has been entrusted to continue Arnold Palmer’s legacy of philanthropy by ensuring a brighter future for our youth through children’s health, character development and nature-focused wellness. For more information, or to join Arnie’s Army, please visit palmerfoundation.org or contact 407-876-3944.

Rolex and the Arnold Palmer Cup

Through an unwavering commitment to the game of golf for more than 50 years, Rolex has developed one of the broadest and longest-standing relationships between brand and sport. These strong ties date back to 1967 when Rolex partnered with legendary golfer Arnold Palmer. The charismatic American holds a special place in golf history thanks as much to his natural talent and successful playing career as to his pioneering role in the sport. Since that pivotal bond, Rolex has gone on to establish partnerships at every level of the sport, including the governing bodies responsible for advancing the sport and the finest players, from The Big Three to the New Guard who are leading the rankings at the moment. The decision to partner the Arnold Palmer Cup was thus a natural progression for the Swiss watchmaker, and a tribute to the Arnold Palmer’s inspiring legacy.

About Rolex

An unrivalled reputation for quality and expertise

Rolex, a Swiss watch manufacture headquartered in Geneva, is recognized the world over for its expertise and the quality of its products. Its Oyster and Cellini watches, all certified as Superlative Chronometers for their precision, performance and reliability, are symbols of excellence, elegance and prestige. Founded by Hans Wilsdorf in 1905, the brand pioneered the development of the wristwatch and is at the origin of numerous major watchmaking innovations, such as the Oyster, the first waterproof wristwatch, launched in 1926, and the Perpetual rotor self-winding mechanism invented in 1931. Rolex has

registered over 500 patents in the course of its history. A truly integrated and independent manufacturing company, Rolex designs, develops and produces in-house all the essential components of its watches, from the casting of the gold alloys to the machining, crafting, assembly and finishing of the movement, case, dial and bracelet. Through philanthropic programmes and a broad palette of sponsorship activities, Rolex is also actively involved in supporting the arts, sports and exploration, and encourages the spirit of enterprise, as well as the conservation of natural environments.

About Nike

The exclusive footwear, apparel, headwear, and glove supplier of the Arnold Palmer Cup, Our mission is what drives us to do everything possible to expand human potential. We do that by creating groundbreaking sport innovations, by making our products more sustainably, by building a creative and diverse global team and by making a positive impact in communities where we live and work.